Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

Oryx and Crake

By Margaret Atwood

  • Release Date: 2003-04-22
  • Genre: Literary
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 101 Ratings
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA

Description

A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize.

Margaret Atwood’s new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.

The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief.

With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter.

From the Paperback edition.

Reviews

  • A different angle.

    5
    By Metalkill1000
    I had to read this book for my english class summative. Before this book, I was never the type to go out of my way to read a book. I was very lazy to start reading it, but once I had only three days left until it was due, I couldn't help but feel guilty if I were to use spark-notes. The nights were hellish but it was so worth it. Though slow at times, it was a perfectly good book until I got to the end. Immediately got the sequel. I was so glad that it wasn't another "romance" novel that just covered that part up with an interesting introduction. My view on many things have changed from this book, and solidified my faith in some of my theories. Reading this was somewhat of a curse though, my career plan was going toward either sciences or arts. Oryx and Crake just lost my hope for being in the sciences. Though interesting, it looks pretty ugly for scientists.
  • Wonderful read

    4
    By Robb Davis
    Loved this book. A little slow at first but then I really got into it about 1/3 through. Good science fiction novel. Scary. With modern-day prophetic possibilities!
  • Oryx and Crake

    5
    By Bogey Smith
    Part One of the MaddAddam series, Oryx and Crake lays the groundwork for what is without a doubt (in my humble opinion) one of the most entertaining and important works of the millennium. Since reading this series I have become a better person. The second book is called The Year of the Flood, followed by MaddAddam.
  • An excellent story of a frighteningly possible future

    4
    By Noctum6
    Although I found a few chapters a bit dragging at approximately the one third mark, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. This is the first of Atwood's books I've read and I was not disappointed. The characters, we're well established and although the central character, Jimmy/Snowman was not the type of person I would generally root for, I felt he was a product of his time and environment. I would have liked a bit more granularity in the history of Oryx. Her tragic childhood was well detailed but her later years, specifically how she was able to overcome the tragedy of her adolescence was entirely absent. I suppose the lack of information does give her a certain mystique. I do enjoy an open ending, however the ending of this story did feel a touch too abrupt. Up next, The Year of the Flood.
  • One of my all time favourites

    5
    By Histerica
    Lost count of how many times I have read this - love Atwood the writer once I can turn off the politics.
  • Perfection

    5
    By Kyle Stewart
    The absolute best book I have read in a while! 5 stars

keyboard_arrow_up